Religious Repression: US Adds Nigeria To List Of “Countries Of Concern”

The United States Government has added Nigeria to its blacklist as one of the countries that have engaged in “severe violations of religious freedom.”

The Trump administration had in December 2019, added Nigeria to a Special Watch List of countries tolerating violent crimes against religious freedom.

Today, the United States Secretary of State, Mike Pompeo, had announced that Nigeria has been added to the “blacklist” on violations against religious freedom.

Today the U.S. designates Burma, China, Eritrea, Iran, Nigeria, the DPRK, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Tajikistan, and Turkmenistan as countries of concern under the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998 for engaging systematic, ongoing, egregious religious freedom violations.

The U.S. is unwavering in its commitment to religious freedom. No country or entity should be allowed to persecute people with impunity because of their beliefs. These annual designations show that when religious freedom is attacked, we will act.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s